My review on Mamma Mia! the movie.

Standard

Mamma Mia! was right indeed. The movie is based off of the musical Mamma Mia! The story is about a young women named Sophie (played by Amanda Seyfried) whose finds her mother’s journal and discovers that one of these three men that her mother talks about in her journal could be her father. She’s not sure which one because her mother ends off with a “…” to which Sophie knows it means sex (that’s how they proclaimed it in the older days) So with her mother not knowing about all of this Sophie sends out invitations to the three men to her wedding. But instead of sending them personally she pretends to be her mother sending the invites to them saying how she wants them to be at Sophie’s wedding.  When the men get the invitations they rush over to the mother’s hotel. Sophie hopes she finds out who her real dad is so he could walk her down the aisle.

The story jumps to the Sophie’s mother Donna (played by Meryl Streep) and her two friends Rosie (Julie Walters) and Tanya (Christine Baranski) who came to intend Sophie’s wedding and to have a little Dynamos (their band) reunion. Donna tells Rosie and Tanya how she would rather be far away rich then to be there running a hotel with barely a fixable sink.  Donna then goes on to find her three flames in an attic: Bill (Stellan Skarsgård), Sam (Pierce Brosnan) and Harry (Colin Firth) that’s when things get complicated.

After watching this movie I turned to my friend and said “What is going on here?” I loved the music; I would say my favorite scene was when Donna sung Mamma Mia! while trying to get a closer look at the three men. But I felt like this movie was to fast pace. I feel like they rushed it. I’ve never seen the musical (I heard only good things about it) but for this movie I would give it a 3 out of 5. There were funny moments which I liked but then finding out all of these events took place in one day mostly two if you count the wedding is unbelievable to me. I was also very disappointed that this whole movie was about finding out whom Sophie’s real dad was and we never did! I guess the theme was discover yourself before you out looking for others to discover you.

Mamma Mia

Mamma Mia

Leave a Reply

